Celebrating 2022 Milestones

Congratulations to all our employees and owner operators who have achieved Years of Service and Safe Driving milestones.


2022 Top Fleet Employer of Distinction

We are pleased to announce that Payne Transportation has once again been named a Trucking HR Canada Top Fleet Employer (TFE).

The TFE is a national program that recognizes the importance of having sound HR policies and practices in the trucking and logistics industry.

We recognize that being a Top Fleet Employer is truly a group effort from our leadership to our dedicated team of drivers, mechanics, operations and admin staff and we are incredibly proud to have achieved this honour for 6 consecutive years!

Celebrating 2021 Milestones

Payne Transportation Ltd. is excited to recognize all those who have achieved milestones in Years of Service and Years of Safe Driving.  Over 129 milestones are listed below for the 2021 year.

We are very excited to recognize Rae Kern as the first driver to achieve 20 Years of Safe Driving with Payne Transportation Ltd.  Congratulations Rae!  In December, everyone listed below will be receiving their awards.


2020 Driver of the Year

WINNIPEG, Man. – Payne Transportation Ltd. is proud to announce the winners of the “2020 Driver of the Year” award in their respective categories. 

Deck Division:  Isaak Neufeld
Dry Van Division:  Bryn Lewis
Specialized Division:  David Wiebe

Also, being honored as Driver of the Year Runner Up awards are:

Deck Division:  Daniel Bondar & Yashandeep Mangat
Dry Van Division:  Nigel Burgess & Byung Taek Park
Specialized Division:  Christer Gustafsson

Trucking HR Canada honors Payne Transportation Ltd. as a Top Fleet Employer for 2020

For the fourth year in a row, Payne Transportation Ltd. has earned honours through the 7th annual Top Fleet Employers program.

All applicants were rated on topics including recruitment and retention practices, workplace culture, compensation, training and skills development, and innovative HR practices. Additionally, those who have been recognized in the program for a minimum of 5 years are honoured with the Top Fleet Employer of Distinction status.

COVID-19 – Payne Transportation Updates and Resource

Click on the documents below to download.

Government of Canada – Federal Safety Guidance to protect drivers

April 1 – Mullen Group Update #3

Coronavirus Factsheet

Department of Homeland Security

Pandemic Preparedness Section of our Health and Safety Manual

Fit for Duty Assessment

2019 Driver of the Year

WINNIPEG, Man. – Payne Transportation held its annual awards gala Nov. 29, recognizing drivers who exemplify the best when it comes to safety, service, and community.  Three drivers were honored with Driver of the Year awards in their respective categories.

In the open deck division, Abraham Bissessar took home the top spot, with Brian Kemp and team drivers Cornelia Hartmann and Andreas Weisse named runners up.

For the van division, Nigel Burgess was Driver of the Year, while Byung Taek Park and team drivers Keum Ko and Hakim Kim were runners up.

The specialized category saw William Schroeder take the top prize and David Wiebe and Christer Gustafsson named runners up.

The selection process involves drivers being nominated by Payne’s operations team, then being vetted by the safety department, and finally voted on by the executive advisory committee. With 17 submissions this year, the nominating committee introduced a new format for selecting Driver of the Year by honoring a winner in three categories and naming two runner ups.  During its gala, Payne Transportation also chooses a charity the company will support with its silent auction fundraiser. This year, proceeds from the raffle will be donated to the Children’s Wish Foundation.

More than 160 drivers, mechanics, and office staff from Payne attended this year’s awards gala.

Trucking HR Canada honors Payne Transportation Ltd. as a Top Fleet Employer for 2019

“Our Top Fleet Employers are leaders in promoting a positive image of the trucking and logistics industry,” says Angela Splinter, Chief Executive Officer. “As the competition for skilled workers continues to intensify, their consistently strong HR approaches will help position us an industry of choice.”
The Top Fleet Employer standards have been validated by trucking industry experts, and is reviewed annually to ensure an accurate reflection of human resources issues, trends, and today’s working environments. A newly created “Top Fleet Employers Council” provides strategic input to program policies and the Top Fleet Employers’ Awards assessment criteria.

Click here for Press Release.

Special thanks to all our Sponsors for Children’s Wish

L to R: Thomas McKee, Susan Wiebe, Aimee Rich, Dale Bjorklund, Haylie Payne, Christina Matias, Mark Dobbs, Nicole Pacheco, Shaylee Dueck, Tom Payne, Sheldon Novak & Peter Bonneville

Payne Transportation Ltd. would like to thank the many sponsors (logos below) who helped make their 6th Annual Gala & Awards night one to remember!   Employees and owner operators joined together to celebrate the many achievements in Safety and Years of Service.  The Children’s Wish Foundation was the charity that Payne choose to support and raise funds for this year.  With the proceeds from the raffles, Payne presented Aimee Rich of the Children’s Wish with $4,000.00 donation!  Special thanks to the Gala team (pictured above – Andrea McNicholl was not available for picture) who worked tirelessly to make this night such a success.   Check out the photo gallery from the celebration 

Payne Transportation Ltd Celebrates Service, Safety, and Honors Driver Of The Year at Annual Awards Gala

L to R: Thomas McKee, Patrik Anias & Tom Payne Jr.

Staff and drivers at Payne Transportation came together on Friday November 23 to celebrate the accomplishments of another successful year in business and to recognize employees celebrating milestone anniversaries and drivers achievements in safe driving!

The event was held at the Hilton Airport hotel in Winnipeg and was attended by over 140 of Payne’s drivers, mechanics, and office staff.

Annually, the highlight of the gala, is the announcement of the “Payne Transportation Driver of the Year”.   The selection process for the driver of the year involves being nominated by the operations team, vetted by the safety department to ensure they qualify, and then voted on by the Executive Advisory Committee.

The finalists were announced and recognized at the awards gala.  They were, Gordon Reimer, Christer Gustafsson , Patrik Anias, Byung Taek Park and Peter Wiebe.

Out of this group of finalists Patrik Anias was selected as the  2018 Payne Transportation Driver Of The Year.

Patrik has been an owner operator with Payne since August 2015 and was chosen because of his dedication to hard work, his support of his fellow drivers and the fact that he will do whatever is asked of him.  He has even rescued other drivers when they need help! Once when another driver had major tractor issues on the east coast, and when asked if he’d run team after he delivered and finish delivering the driver who broke down…his response was “no problem”.   Patrik is always willing to help out his fellow drivers, he also bailed out another driver one time and delivered a 12 drop California load all in one week and all while ensuring he maintained compliance with his e-logs.

Tom Payne, President of Payne Transportation states “In the next couple of years, our company will be approaching our 20th Anniversary, and I can’t express how proud I am of everyone at Payne for their commitment to our company’s success!”  Congratulations to everyone on their achievements this year, we look forward to another successful year in 2019.”